Governor Baker, Chairman Hughes Statements On Legislative Election Victories

BOSTON -- For the first time in more than thirty years, the Massachusetts Republican Party saw a net gain in elections for the state legislature in a presidential election year.  


"I am thrilled that our Republican leaders in the state legislature were victorious tonight in many of the important legislative races across the Commonwealth, as it is a sign that the people of Massachusetts value fiscal responsibility and commonsense leadership," said Governor Charlie Baker. "Thanks to highly qualified candidates and the hard work of grassroots volunteers, Massachusetts will have more voices on Beacon Hill fighting for lower taxes and more efficient state government. Lieutenant Governor Polito and I were honored to campaign alongside them, and valued the opportunity to listen to and learn from their constituents."

"Our party is on the rise in Massachusetts," said MassGOP Chairman Kirsten Hughes. "For the first time in more than thirty years, the MassGOP has increased our numbers in the legislature in a presidential year.  Congratulations to the new and returning members who will join the 190th General Court in January, and thank you to all of the courageous Republican candidates that spread our message of lower taxes, fiscal discipline, and more responsive government." 

Republican legislative caucuses have not grown in a Presidential cycle in more than 30 years.  In 2016, all incumbent seats were successfully defended, and the GOP caucus in the House grew in size.

Republican Legislative Victories In Contested Races: 

Sen. Patrick O'Connor, Sen. Don Humason, Sen. Richard Ross

Rep. Jay Barrows, Rep. Nick Boldyga, Rep. Kate Campanale, Rep-Elect Will Crocker, Rep. David Decoste, Re. Shawn Dooley, Rep. Paul Frost, Rep. Susan Williams Gifford, Rep. Sheila Harrington, Rep. Steven Howitt, Rep. Jim Kelcourse, Rep. Marc Lombardo, Rep. Jim Lyons, Rep. Mat Muratore, Rep. Shaunna O'Connell, Rep. Elizabeth Poirier, Rep. David Vieira, Rep. Donald Wong.